Elbrycht Takes X Games Gold

France's Jerome Elbrycht dominated an international field of monoskiers to take home the coveted 2016 X Games Monoskier X Gold. USA's Nikko Landeros earned the Silver and Kevin Bramble took home the Bronze.

The 2016 lineup included defending champion Chris Devlin Young (USA), known to the racing and ski world as CDY, Kevin Bramble (of KBG skis), 2015 5th place finisher Josh Elliott (Aspen CO), 2105 6th place finisher Trey Humphrey (Reno NV), SILVER medalist 2015 Brandon Adam (Sandpoint, ID), 2015 BRONZE medalist Ravi Drugan (Eugene, OR), and newcomer David Poole (Townsend MT). Canada's Josh Dueck of monoski back flip fame, Jerome Elbrycht from France, Niko Johann, Nikko Landeros and Landon McGauley.

The qualifying round claimed Dave Poole, Landon McGauley and Ravi Drugan, who finished in 9th in the heat but was advanced to the final after Josh Dueck of Canada withdrew from the event.

The first semi final riders were X Games newcomers Jerome Elbrycht and Niko Johann and returning racers Josh Elliott and Trey Humphrey. The heat saw Elbrycht leading most of the way until USA's Josh Elliott passed him in a turn. Trey Humphrey came in 3rd while Niko Johann of Germany DNF after a crash.

Round two had X Games rookie Niko Landeros pitted against veterans CDY, Kevin Bramble, and Ravi Drugan. Early on, Drugan took a hard landing on the first jump and went down. Chris Devlin Young (CDY) led Kevin Bramble and Nikko Landeros, opening a wide lead until a crash on the Green Dragon section of the course sent his ski across the run, completely out of reach, giving Bramble, who was in 2nd, the lead. Nikko Landeros, skiing a solid run, quickly closed the distance and took the last jump to pass Bramble at the finish line.

The final had Kevin Bramble leading the pack with Elbrycht in a close 2nd through the Rhythm Section where Bramble went off course slightly making room for Elbrycht to slide past him and take the lead.

A close pack run through the Green Dragon had all 4 racers within a ski length of each other, with Josh Elliott always in contention.

The final stretch had Elbrycht, Bramble, Landeros and Elliott in that order until, in a repeat of the move that won him the 2nd semi final, Nikko Landeros jumps past Bramble to cross the line in 2nd place, with Bramble 3rd and Elliott 4th, crossing the line less than 1/100th of a second behind Bramble.

Jerome Elbrycht wins Mono Skier X

Jerome Elbrycht took the gold medal in the Mono Skier X Final at X Games Aspen 2016, with Nikko Landeros and Kevin Bramble crossing the finish line in silver and bronze medal positions, respectively.

The event was hosted by Paralympic medalist, Dancing with the Stars 2nd place finisher, model, actress and Adaptive Action Sports founder Amy Purdy, who was instrumental in bringing back Adaptive to X-Games.

Commentators included multi-sport athlete Alanna Nichols

Elbrycht's 2016 sponsors include German wakeboard brand Vampireboards, Level gloves, Spyoptic, Rossignol skis, prends ta luge et tire toi and Landing Headwear

Tags: x games